Featured Posts

Panthers upbeat about direction after second day of training camp


Spartanburg, SC--Matt Rhules' commitment to train everyone to be a starter is working slowly but surely. It's difficult to tell until they get into pads later in the training camp schedule. But in just two days there has been a lot of enthusiasm with hybrid lineups between the ones and twos and down through the team's re-tooled roster.


Day-2 Observations:

-- Sam Darnold improving consistency in the passing game

-- Jeremey Chinn may be a natural at Safety

-- Jaycee Horn continues to absorb the playbook as he switch from playing in the

pedal instead of the half-turn


Sam Darnold looked rather fluid, other than the tipped pass that was picked off by during the 7-on-7 period of practice.


Darnold, now grappling with his third offensive system in just his fourth year in the league, will need to continue to build on the progress he's made this summer. His cache of weapons is better than he's ever had which includes running back Christian McCaffrey. But the team will have to figure out the mystery at left tackle in order to protect Darnold efficiently enough for him to thrive. "The recipe for drafting a quarterback and having him be successful is keeping him in the same system with the same coordinator and the same protection calls," Rhule said.


"You can see him now look a little more confident than he did last spring because it's his second time going through the installation."


One of the guys that really turned heads on Thursday was Jeremy Chinn. This season he's being tested at Safety. If Thursday was an early indicator of how comfortable he feels there, he should turn in some great performances this year. Chinn picked off a deflected Sam Darnold pass creating one of the highlights of the day. On the other side of the ball rookie receiver Terrace Marshall Jr. showed off his catch radius grabbing a couple of barely catchable passes which excited the crowd. "He's just gonna get bigger and stronger," Rhule said.

The early practices and steady pace of the team's 2021 camp will be capped by Saturday's celebration where fans will get the opportunity to see their favorite Carolina Panthers at Wofford's Gibbs Stadium. It's all part of the NFL's Training Camp: Back Together Saturday.


The celebration will have live entertainment, food trucks and a host of fan friendly things to do for all ages. It all begins at 5:30 p.m. followed by practice at 7:00 p.m.



TRAINING CAMP SCHEDULE

Friday, July 30 8:30 – 10:30 a.m.


Saturday, July 31 7 – 9 p.m. Back Together Saturday, Gibbs Stadium,

Wofford College


Sunday, Aug. 1 no practice


Monday, Aug. 2 8:30 – 11 a.m.


Tuesday, Aug. 3 8:30 – 11 a.m.


Wednesday, Aug. 4 8:30 – 11 a.m.


Thursday, Aug. 5 8:30 – 11 a.m.


Friday, Aug. 6 7 – 9 p.m. Fan Fest presented by Daimler, Bank of America Stadium


Saturday, Aug. 7 no practice


Sunday, Aug. 8 8:30 – 11 a.m.


Monday, Aug. 9 8:30 – 11 a.m.


Tuesday, Aug. 10 8:30 – 11 a.m.


Wednesday, Aug. 11 no practice


Thursday, Aug. 12 4 – 6 p.m. Joint Practice with Indianapolis, Westfield, Ind.


Friday, Aug. 13 4 – 6 p.m. Joint Practice with Indianapolis, Westfield, Ind.


Saturday, Aug. 14 no practice


Sunday, Aug. 15 Carolina at Indianapolis, Lucas Oil Field, 1 p.m.


Sunday, Aug. 16 no practice


Monday, Aug. 17 8:30 – 11 a.m.


Tuesday, Aug. 18 TBD Joint Practice with Baltimore, Wofford College


Wednesday, Aug. 19 TBD Joint Practice with Baltimore, Wofford College


Break camp